¡Oye! A LAtina perspective on food, fashion, familia and art.

A Woman on the Verge…

Leave a comment

by M. Byron Trent

Image 5To know me, you will know that I am always on the verge of something…a great business model, a screenplay, a novel, a breakdown or breakthrough.  Then last year, a friend gives me a book on the Chinese zodiac and according to the Chinese calendar being born in the of year the snake means that I am a great achiever!  I am a mover, a shaker, a doer, a go getter!!!  Yea me!

This is true for every snake year.  But mine.  The old me would have loved to have used this as fodder for every  reason and excuse to explain away why all those great ideas never came to fruition or why I just never seemed to be in the right place at the right time.  The old me would have crawled back into my hole and replayed all those old family tapes I heard while growing up.  I would have alienated myself into such a deep hole, no one could find me.

Susina Carrot Cake

Susina Carrot Cake

But, the fighter in me is still here and I am listening to her.  I am on the verge of greatness.  One need not read too much into any kind of  dime store astrology.  But, I am thankful for the jumping off point.  This was a pivotal year. “Being on the verge” is beautiful.  I feel stronger, beyond wise, and oh, so motivated.  I have lived in the past.  I am living in the present,  and I can certainly see the future.  Maybe, it’s because I have two young girls who make me accountable everyday.  Maybe it’s because it’s my burning desire to leave a legacy and being on the verge has finally tipped it’s way over to accomplishment.  So, look out!  I am no longer “on the verge.”  I am here!

Image 14

 

Thank you, Pedro, for your humor and your inspiration. Te adoro.

Author: simonerey

Artists, passionate about food and familia.

Talk to us!

